Calling Maggie May

Synopsis:

A dark and edgy first-person cautionary tale about how one girl’s seemingly minor choices quickly spiraled into a life as a sex worker in the tradition of Go Ask Alice and Lucy in the Sky.

She had a normal life, until one small decision changed everything. Suddenly, there were new possibilities and new experiences.

But not all of those experiences were good.

Read her shocking story in the diary she left behind.


The Phoenix’s Perspective

Calling Maggie May continues in the tradition of Go Ask Alice, Jay’s Journal, Lucy in the Sky and The Book of David.  The reader not only gets a look at the daily descent of Maggie May but the reader also gets a look into Maggie’s mind – her process of reasoning, and at times, denial.

As a mother of two, I know that it is a struggle to keep the balance between allowing my children to walk whatever path they truly desire while also helping to keep them on the right side of that path.  Unfortunately, in Calling Maggie May, her mother did not keep that balance.  As a matter of fact, she didn’t even try to.  There was only one path and it was the path she had chosen.  This path demanded a level of perfection in school – in athletics – in life that Maggie simply couldn’t keep up with.  All this pressure caused Maggie to be unhappy.

As a teacher, I can tell you that these feelings of unhappiness and imperfection tend to lead a child to search for someone who will take them as they are and usually that will lead them down a dark road.  Maggie’s dark path comes in the form of a new friend, Ada.  In Ada, Maggie sees what she never had – freedom.  Ada introduces a friend of hers to Maggie and encourages her to go on a date with him.  What Maggie doesn’t understand is that she is being set up as an escort.

Unlike the other books that tend to circle around drugs, Calling Maggie May walks the reader through how quickly the transition from A+ student to prostitute can actually be.  It also shows how slowly the transition back is, if it happens at all.  It also shows how creating a “perfect” path can shelter your children into a type of gullibility that can make it hard for them to see when the choices being presented to them don’t actually benefit them but rather benefit the person around them.

As unfortunate as the circumstances of the book are, I very much enjoyed it.  I also hope that many of today’s students read this book, along with the others.  I think there is an idea of safety out there that today’s children believe in.  Sometimes they don’t’ understand that one wrong choice, one mistake, one bad friend, one wrongly trusted person can change your life for the worse and the hole you drop in may not be one you can ever crawl out of.


Would I add it to the library?

Yes – I would add it to my “Anonymous” section. I really hope that more books will be written, but they are hard to search for on bn.com.

 

Genre: Fiction – substance abuse, sexuality, runaways
ISBN: 9781481439015
Rating:  good

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *