Seven Wonders: The Tomb of Shadows


Three friends left

Jack McKinley and his friends defeated the Colossus of Rhodes, unearthed the treasures of the Hanging Gardens of Babylon, and recovered two of the seven lost Loculi—only to find they’d been betrayed.

Two sides split

With Babylon in ruins, Marco on the Massa side, and ancient secrets coming unraveled, the Select don’t know who to trust or where to turn. Their G7W powers are growing at a furious pace, their worlds have been turned upside down, and the Massa are hot on their heels. But Jack, Aly, and Cass have no choice but to fight on.

One life lost

With the fate of the world in the balance, the friends find the next stop on their quest, where they have to face down their own demons and engage in an epic battle with foes long gone. When promises are broken, blood is spilled—and the Select have to destroy the one thing that might have saved them all.

Seven wonders

The Phoenix’s Perspective

Lerangis delivers yet another exciting adventure.  Our quartet has become a trio since Marco has gone over to the dark side.  Jack, Aly and Cass have no choice — they move on to find the next Loculus without him in order to save themselves.

The two previous books were chock full of adventure and excitement at every turn.  Unfortunately, I found that The Tomb of Shadows had some lulls in the story.  However, I feel like there was a real purpose to those lulls.  We have been following these four kids as they take on the world that is crumbling in front of them and we have watched them be strong — almost too strong and put together considering what life has thrown at them.  I felt like the story in The Tomb of Shadows really follows the kids hitting their breaking points.  They can no longer just make up reasons as to why things should/are working — they are essentially running out of rope to hold on to — they are finding they don’t actually know what they think they know and that there is definitely a whole lot that they don’t even have a concept of.

Sometimes when reading a book, I feel like I am watching a story unfold — almost like seeing the character go through life and its consequences. Here, I felt like I was going through it with them. I was just as blind-sighted as the characters were when we found out some people were switching over to the dark-side, some people who are supposed to be dead aren’t and some people we have tried to protect actually know more about what is going on than we think.  I continue to enjoy the Seven Wonders series and commend Lerangis for keeping the reader so engaged and captivated.

Would I add it to the library?

I have really enjoyed each book in the series thus far and I am so sad that I have to wait until March 2015 for the next installment, The Curse of the King.


Genre: Fantasy
ISBN: 9780062070470
Rating:  good

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *