The Wicked Will Rise (Dorothy Must Die Series)


My name is Amy Gumm—and I’m the other girl from Kansas.

After a tornado swept through my trailer park, I ended up in Oz. But it wasn’t like the Oz I knew from books and movies. Dorothy had returned, but she was now a ruthless dictator. Glinda could no longer be called the Good Witch. And the Wicked Witches who were left? They’d joined forces as the Revolutionary Order of the Wicked, and they wanted to recruit me.

My mission? Kill Dorothy.

Except my job as assassin didn’t work out as planned. Dorothy is still alive. The Order has vanished. And the home I couldn’t wait to leave behind might be in danger.

Somehow, across a twisted and divided land, I have to find the Order, protect the true ruler of Oz, take Dorothy and her henchmen down—and try to figure out what I’m really doing here.

The Phoenix’s Perspective

Dorothy Must Die was a wonderful new look at the story of Oz. We were introduced to Amy Gumm – the new girl from Kansas. Why was she brought here – assassinate the old girl from Kansas!  Apparently, Dorothy got a little too magic and power hungry.

The Wicked Will Rise picks up right where Dorothy Must Die left off. There is nothing but chaos in the Emerald City after the attack on Dorothy, her henchmen and their “friends.” The Revolutionary Order of the Wicked has fallen apart and Amy is on the run with Ozma.  She has ripped out the Tin Man’s heart, but still needs two more relics before she can kill Dorothy.

There are some differences between the first and second books. The first book is wrapped in action from beginning to end whereas the majority of the second book follows Amy and Ozma on their journey across Oz in hopes of finding the key to defeating Dorothy. The biggest difference is Amy herself.  In the first book, Amy is new to Oz and new to magic.  She is simply trying to get her bearings and find her place.  In the second book, we see a whole new Amy.  She is strong, intelligent and brave.  Yet, she is fighting an internal battle – every time she uses magic, she finds herself enjoying it a little too much.  Is she actually wicked at the core?  Let’s hope not!

The ending comes out of nowhere – like a slap to the face. I was definitely expecting some craziness at the end, but this was nowhere on my radar and yet, after re-reading it, the ending made total sense. I can’t even imagine where Paige is taking this series and can only say that I will be waiting at the edge of my seat until the third book is published sometime in 2017.

Would I add it to the library?

I can’t wait for the next book in the series to come out. In the meantime, I will survive on the novellas.


Genre: Fiction – dark fantasy, alternate worlds
ISBN: 9780062280718
Rating: absolutely awesome

Add a Comment

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *